Middle School Adventures

Life is never dull….

Monitoring My GAME Plan Progress November 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Krista @ 1:13 am

Monitoring My GAME Plan Progress

Two weeks ago I developed a GAME plan intended to integrate technology into my content areas of social studies, science, and literature, and to help me practice the skills of a self-directed learner. Being the visual learner that I am, I made a colorful poster of my goals which is hanging by my desk in my classroom as a reminder of what I should be working on. I broke it down into four goals.

 

This first goal is to explore real-world issues and solve authentic problems using digital sources such as the Internet, blogs, virtual field trips, and so on. This is definitely not a goal that can be accomplished quickly. So far, I have begun making changes in my social studies curriculum to accommodate this goal. In our study of Hammurabi and his written codes, students worked in cooperative groups to determine appropriate punishments for eight scenarios. We then went to the computer lab and found the actual punishments and code numbers that coincided with the scenarios. Students compared and contrasted their ideas to Hammurabi’s and discussed the fairness of the codes. This led to a great discussion in class, with most students agreeing that many of the codes were harsh and really didn’t follow the “eye for an eye” principle the codes were supposedly based upon. The codes chosen were relevant; one discussed a son hitting his father and one was determining if birth parents had the right to claim a child after he/she was adopted. Students were amazed that these situations were issues in Hammurabi’s time and still applied today. The adopted child scenario spurred a great debate. I would still like to connect with a classroom in another country to discuss laws but I haven’t gotten this done, yet.

 

Creating a classroom computer schedule was my second goal. At first students straggled up to use the computer, then they started making a list on the board. Finally, I made a schedule for usage for all hours, three-hole punched it, and put it in a binder by the computer. I also made small cards that I filled out so students know ahead of time when their computer time would come. The students are excited to use the computer. I’m just not sure about the scheduling. Students will be using it, but I want it to be useful time spent and not just Goggle-ing last names. I have ordered some software that has students building ancient cities and deciphering codes so this can be a useful tool. With differentiation, students have certain requirements to fulfill and I would like to push my classroom into this mode and add the computer to it.

 

Since I am using the GAME plan, I made this a goal for my students’ as well. I have made a chart similar to the one used in our text for students’ to complete concerning their goal. I haven’t made definite plans as to when I’ll initiate this, but plan on having it coincide with a project in either social studies or science.

 

My last goal, differentiating lessons more effectively, hasn’t moved too much from last week. I have been providing choices to students and accommodations and modifications to my students with IEP’s. There is so much more I want to do but it seems like my weeks fly by and I think on Friday afternoon that yet another week has gone by without me accomplishing more! I really struggle with implementing the differentiation. I really want to, so the desire is there, but even after attending workshops I still don’t know how to get it going. Perhaps project-based learning and assessment should be a part of this goal. The authors of our textbook suggest creating a learning environment that will promote a deep understanding of the content being studied, and then to consider an appropriate assessment method to match the objectives (Cennamo, Ross, & Ertmer, 2009). If I add more projects to my curriculum, I could limit the amount of forced choice assessments like multiple choice and matching, and instead, allow students to choose their project and use creative thinking skills, and utilize rubrics and checklists to determine if students met the objectives.

 

So far the information I seek on resources has been found. I am still waiting to hear from our technology teacher about implementing blogs, though. I don’t feel I need to modify my plan with the exception of adding to the differentiation. I need to consider how to make it happen and then maybe I will make more progress. Using the GAME plan approach is a great idea because personally, if I’m not being stared in the face with something, I might not follow through with it. So, knowing I am accountable for monitoring my actions really keeps me involved and moving with my goals.

 

Krista

6th grade

sci, soc stud, lit

 

Reference

 

Cennamo, K., Ross, J., & Ertmer, P. (2009). Technology integration for meaningful classroom

use: A standards-based approach. (Laureate Education, Inc., Custom ed.).

Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

 

 

2 Responses to “Monitoring My GAME Plan Progress”

  1. Randy Van Says:

    Krista,

    I think you are in a great place in your GAME plan, particularly in regards to bringing real world issues into the classroom. This is a skill that will benefit the students both inside and outside the classroom and create an environment where the students can link their own lives to the content (Cennamo, Ross, & Ertmer, 2009). The lesson on Hammurabi’s code is an excellent example of using technology to link the past to the student’s lives today. So many of our laws are based on those of the past and allowing the students to create this link may help create an appreciation of the material. Using the computers will definitely help students to actively work with the material in an authentic situation. I feel this is really good use of technology that fits in nicely with the first goal you identified.

    Creating a computer schedule I feel is a great idea allowing a limited number of computers to be used by a larger amount of students. This allows the students to plan their time helping them to conceptualize their thoughts before using this resource (Cennamo, Ross, & Ertmer, 2009). I understand your concerns regarding the use of computer time by the students. In this case I would still use the schedule but model for the students some ways to find the information and the correct use of the Internet. This will help the students to make the most of their time on the computers as they will quickly find the information using the tools taught in class. I feel that the majority of the students will stay on task and use the time for the reason it was created, however, there will always be a few that will misuse the computers and the Internet. My suggestion then would be to impress on the students the need for using their time productively and then let the chips fall where they may. I think you will find that everything will work out.

    Good luck with your lessons and your GAME plan.

    Randy
    HS Social Studies

    References

    Cennamo, K., Ross, J., & Ertmer, P. (2009). Technology integration for meaningful
    classroom use: A standards-based approach. Mason, OH: Cengage Learning.

  2. Krista Says:

    Hi Randy

    Thanks for the input. I’m glad you think the social studies lesson sounds like good authentic learning since that was what I was aiming for! I am looking at my science curriculum through the same eyes so to speak. We will be studying plants and I’d like to study the unit in a way that makes it authentic and relevant for the students. I also agree with you about the computer schedule. I think most students will use it appropriately once I give them some guidance.

    Thanks again!
    Krista


Leave a comment